Sixteen Athletes Named to 2021 Elite & Development Teams

Adam Popp running.

Adam Popp

Dare2tri today named 16 paratriathletes to their 2021 Elite and Development Teams, powered by Columbia Threadneedle Investments. Members of each team will receive coaching, guidance, training support, racing apparel, and travel stipends as they train and compete during the 2021 paratriathlon season.

The Elite Team will represent Dare2tri at national and international competitions, including the International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championship Series. For many Elite Team Members, the ultimate goal is to represent the United States in competition at the Paralympic games.

The ten athletes selected to the 2021 Elite Team are Adam Popp (Golden, CO), Ashley Eisenmenger (Chicago, IL), Dan St. Pierre (Frankfort, IL), Howie Sanborn (Colorado Springs, CO), Kelly Worrell (Cherry Hill, NJ), Mary Kate Callahan (La Grange, IL), Melissa Stockwell (Colorado Springs, CO), Owen Cravens (Algonquin, IL), Uriah Steffen (Plainfield, IN), and Zach Young (Cape Girardeau, MO).

The Development Team, composed of upcoming paratriathlon talent, will represent Dare2tri in regional and national competitions as they aim to qualify for the Toyota USA Paratriathlon National Championships.

The six athletes selected to the Development Team are Brock Kitterman (Bethel Park, PA), Dee Palagi (Portland, OR), Jacie King (Burr Oak, MI), James Gilliard (Naperville, IL), Maggie Peters (Fort Wayne, IN), and Ryan Lahey (Waunakee, WI).

Each year, Dare2tri brings together all team members for an annual Elite and Development Team Camp. The camp provides an exclusive opportunity for camaraderie and advanced skill-building at the Lakeshore Foundation, a Paralympic training site in Birmingham, AL.

More news