Six Athletes Take Podium at National Championships

Karen Sternfeld in a racing chair.

Several Dare2tri athletes, including 2021 Elite Team Members and camp participants, raced Sunday at the 2021 Paratriathlon National Championships in Long Beach, CA. Among the field, six Dare2tri athletes finished atop the podium.

Karen Sternfeld was crowned the national champion in the women’s PTWC division. This was Karen’s first career appearance at Paratriathlon Nationals. She made her paratriathlon debut on June 6, 2021, at Leon’s Triathlon in Hammond, IN.

Elite Team athletes Ashley Eisenmenger (PTVI guided by Keri Serota), Kelly Worrell (PTS4), and Howie Sanborn (PTWC) finished second in their respective divisions. Owen Cravens (PTVI guided by Colin Riley) placed third in his category. Kendra Herber — who qualified for Nationals during her paratriathlon debut at the Pleasant Prairie Triathlon — finished third in the women’s PTS4 division.

In the women’s PC Open division on Saturday, Development Team athlete Maggie Peters took the top spot (with guide Mary Shepro). Heather Sealover finished third.

All para athletes raced a course covering a 750-meter swim, 22-kilometer bike, and a 5-kilometer run at Alamitos Beach, the proposed site of the triathlon competitions for the Olympic and Paralympic Games Los Angeles 2028. 

The Dare2tri Elite Team is sponsored by Columbia Threadneedle Investments and Deloitte.

Race Results

Red/bold: Denotes Dare2tri Elite Team Member
Blue/bold: Denotes 2021 Dare2tri Camp Participant

1. Brad Snyder guided by Greg Billington, 1:00:13
2. Aaron Scheidies guided by Ben Collins, 1:00:25
3. Owen Cravens guided by Colin Riley, 1:02:59

PTVI Women
1. Amy Dixon guided by Kirsten Sass, 1:21:27
2. Ashley Eisenmenger guided by Keri Serota, 1:26:35

PTS2 Men
1. Cahin Perez, 1:25:20

PTS3 Men
1. Chris Marston, 1:18:10

PTS3 Women
1. Juansca Rodriguez, 1:27:48

PTS4 Men
1. Eric McElvenny, 0:57:05
2. Erik Hultquist, 1:01:47
3. Omar Bermejo, 1:02:46

PTS4 Women
1. Kelly Elmlinger, 1:06:02
2. Kelly Worrell, 1:16:35
3. Kendra Herber, 1:27:37

PTS5 Men
1. Chris Hammer, 58:36

PTS5 Women
1. Leah Kaplan, 1:28:51

1. Zachary Stinson, 1:07:22
2. Howie Sanborn, 1:07:55
3. James Cook, 1:16:26

PTWC Women
1. Karen Sternfeld, 1:46:53

More news