Ten Dare2tri Athletes Earn Top Honors at Paratri Nationals

Emelia Perry in a racing chair.

Dare2tri athletes won 10 total medals Sunday, including three national titles, at the 2022 USA Paratriathlon National Championships in Long Beach, California.

Chris Marston (PTS3) of the Dare2tri Elite Team and Leah Kaplan (PTS5) won national titles in their respective divisions, defending their national titles from 2021.

Emelia Perry won the women’s PTWC national title while Emily Shyrock and Jacie King finished second and third respectively.

Jorge Torres of the Dare2tri Development Team finished second in the men’s PTS2 category while Kyle Stepp finished third. In the men’s PTS5 category, Elite Team Member Jesus Moreno finished second behind U.S. Paralympian Chris Hammer.

Elite Team athletes Ashley Eisenmenger (PTVI guided by Mary Shepro) and Uriah Steffen (PTS4) finished third in their respective divisions.

In the Legacy Triathlon women’s PC Open division, Development Team athlete Heather Sealover took the top spot. Kayla Woputz and Elizabeth Fideler (guided by Jenna Haufler) finished second and third respectively.

All para athletes raced a course covering a 750-meter swim, 20-kilometer bike, and a 5-kilometer run at Alamitos Beach, the proposed site of the triathlon competitions for the Olympic and Paralympic Games Los Angeles 2028. 

The Dare2tri Elite Team is sponsored by Columbia Threadneedle Investments, Deloitte, and GoodSport.

Race Results (Still Pending)

Red/bold: Denotes Dare2tri Elite or Development Team Member
Blue/bold: Denotes 2022 Dare2tri Camp Participant

PTWC Women
1. Emila Perry, 1:31:41
2. Emily Shyrock

3. Jacie King

1. Kyle Coon guided by Zack Goodman, 1:01:46
2. Francesco Magsiano
3. Jeff Mata

PTVI Women
1. Deborah Chucoski guided by Ericka Hachmeister, 1:17:06
2. McClain Hermes
3. Ashley Eisenmenger guided by Mary Shepro

PTS2 Men
1. Cahin Perez, 1:26:26
2. Jorge Torres
3. Kyle Stepp

PTS3 Men
1. Chris Marston, 1:18:01
2. Zimri Solis

PTS3 Women
1. Juansca Rodriguez, 1:31:27

PTS4 Men
1. Carson Clough, 1:05:21
2. Erik Hultquist
3. Uriah Steffen

PTS4 Women
1. Emma Meyers, 1:23:15

PTS5 Men
1. Chris Hammer, 1:01:13
2. Jesus Moreno

PTS5 Women
1. Leah Kaplan, 1:26:33

More news