Seven Dare2tri Athletes Crowned National Champions at Paratri Nationals

Three men standing atop a race podium holding giant checks.

Kyle Stepp (middle), Cahin Perez (left) and Jorge Torres (right).

Despite rainy weather conditions, Dare2tri athletes rose to the occasion at the 2023 USA Paratriathlon National Championships, clinching an impressive seven national titles and 13 medals overall.

Among the athletes who emerged as national champions in their respective divisions:

  • Dare2tri Elite Team members Jesus Moreno (PTS5), Kendra Herber (PTS2), and Skyler Fisher (PTWC).
  • Dare2tri Development Team members Kyle Stepp (PTS2) and David Whelan (PTS4).
  • Dare2tri camp participants Irwin Ramirez (PTVI) and Hannah Longmire (PTS3).

Additionally, Leah Kaplan of the Dare2tri Elite Team (PTS5) and Rachel Rhodes (PTS4) finished second in their respective divisions. In the women’s PTWC division, the Elite Team’s Emily Shryock claimed the second position, while Emily Sweeney secured third place. Elite Team member Jorge Torres (PTS2) and Katie Steinbrecher (PTVI), guided by Sarah Mikesell, clinched bronze medals in their respective categories.

Race day saw inclement weather with rain and wet conditions; however, all competing athletes took it in stride. They tackled a course included a 750-meter swim, a 20-kilometer bike ride, and a 5-kilometer run around Jamestown Beach, as well as the surrounding farmland and forest.

The Dare2tri Elite & Development Team extends its gratitude to its sponsors, including Columbia Threadneedle Investments, Deloitte, and GoodSport, whose support has been instrumental in achieving these outstanding results.

More news